Kanchenjunga (also called Kangchenjunga, Kangchen Dzö-nga, Khangchendzonga, Kanchenjanga, Kachendzonga, or Kangchanfanga) is the third highest mountain in the world and the second highest in Nepal, located in the Taplejung district straddling the frontier between Nepal and India.

The rough translation of Kanchenjunga is “Five Treasures of the Snow”, as it contains five peaks over 8,000 metres. Until 1852, Kanchenjunga was assumed to be the highest mountain in the world, but calculations made by the British 1849 Great Trigonometric Survey showed Mount Everest to be the highest and Kanchenjunga the third-highest.

Kanchenjunga was first climbed on May 25, 1955 by George Band and Joe Brown of a British expedition. The British expedition honored the beliefs of the Sikkimese, who hold the summit sacred, by stopping a few feet short of the actual summit. Most successful summit parties since then have followed this tradition. After the alteration of the Nepalese/Indian frontier in 1975, Kanchenjunga became the tallest mountain in India.

Day 01. Kathmandu to Biratnagar/ Tumlingtar: 
Fly to Tumlingtar from Kathmandu via Biratnagar in connection flight and rest for preparation of trekking.

Day 02. Tumlingtar to Mayam: 
The trek starts early in the morning to wards Chainpur and stops at Chainpur for the lunch. After lunch, the trail descends to wards Pokhari, then starts to climb again up to Mayam and rests overnight.

Day 03. Mayam to Sangu: 
On this day the trek descends to Sangu via crossing a ridge at Nundhaki.

Day 04. Sangu to Tamor River: 
The trail follows Majhuwa Khola (river) and after crossing it reaches to Dovan near to Tomor River and heads ahead and camps on the bank of the river.

Day 05. Tamor River to Chiruwa: 
The trek goes ahead, sometimes climbing steeply up and down again towards riverbank. Finally, the trail enters to the valley and the campsite will be near to the Chiruwa Village.

Day 06. Chiruwa to Shakathum: 
The trail continues up and passed the village Tapethok, then climbs up for a while again descends to Simbuwa Khola; after crossing this river the trek climbs over a ridge to join the step and narrow Ghunsa Khola Valley; the camping will be by the bank of the river at Shakathum (5415 ft.)

Day 07. Sakathum to Amjilassa: 
The trek follows a steep and narrow trail up the river along the Right Bank of the Ghunsa Khola. The trail then becomes very steep while passing the hamlets of Zongling and Ghaiyabari. It is a difficult climb with several outcroppings, The path descends steeply and arrives at Amjilassa for camping.

Day 08. Amjilassa to Kyapra Village: 
The trek continues along a gentle path towards Ghunsa Khola. The winding trail descends to the riverbed, which follows for a while before climbing up trail to reach to Kyapra Village (9090 ft.), for camp overnight.

Day 09. Kyapra to Ghunsa village (11400 ft.): 
The trail descends from Kyapra and makes an easy climb up the right bank of Ghunsa Khola and enters into the valley and leaves the river and climbs a small hill. After the village of Phere the trail enters the rhododendron forest and climbs a small hill then descends to Ghunsa Khola and crosses it to reach the village Ghunsa for camping.

Day 10. Ghunsa Village to Khambachen: 
The trail descends towards the riverbed entering a forested area; Jannu Glacier lies ahead. Then, climbs a steep hill to rocky area where it traverse along the Jannu side and finally gets a view of the Jannu (25289 ft.), also called “The Mystery Peak” or” The Terror”. It descends again to Khambachen for rest.

Day11. Khambachen to Lhonak (15680 ft.): 
The trek goes ahead to the edge of Kanchanjunga Glacier and crosses the lateral moraine, then comes to the junction of Lhonak glacier and cuts across at this Junction and arrives at Lhonak for camping; the view of Mera peak (20808 ft.) comes into sigh from here.

Day 12. It is a day trip to Pangpema (16900 ft.): 
The fine views of the towering peaks of the Tent peak (24167 ft.), Nepal Peak (23511 ft.), cross peak (21353 ft.) and the Mt. Kanchanjunga are the rewarding sigh of the trail; then, it returns back to Khambachen.

Day 13 Khambachen to The group leader decides to cross two passes between Ghunsa and Simbuwa Khola (15000-17000 ft.) the higher Lapsing La of the lower Mirgin La into the Simbuwa Khola Valley.

Day 14. Rest Day at the high camp.

Day 15. Today the trek crosses the pass and descends to Simbuwa Khola Valley. The route enters the valley at Tseram (12190 ft.), if Mirgin-La crossed; otherwise, it reaches to camp at Ramche (14000 ft.) after crossing the Lapsnag-La pass.

Day 16. It is a day trip to Yalung Glacier to view the South face of Mt. Kanchanjunga from a Chorten at about 15600 ft, the trek turns back to Ramche for lunch and descends to Tseram (12190 ft.) for camping at night.

Day 17. Tseram to Yamphudin: 
The trail descends through the rhododendron forest to Torantan at 9800 ft. then climbs again to cross Dubi Bhanjyang at 7850 ft. and descends to Yamphudin 95360 ft.) the first village after Ghunsa; inhabited by the mixed community of Sherpas, Limbues, Raies and Gurungs.

Day 18. Yamphudin to Ponphe: 
On this day, the trail descends to Kabell Khola and ascends to Mamanka Village at 5630ft. then the route again descends to cross a bridge over a stream at 4740 ft. and again climbs steeply to reach to Ponphe Village at 5500 ft. high.

Day 19. Ponphe to Pha Khola (4350 ft.): 
The tail climbs to the ridge at 5750 ft. then begins t ascend through side valley and passes Phun – Phun village to Keswa (6120 ft.) then continues to ascend to cross a Gurung settlement of Bhanjyang at 6640 ft. and traverse a ridge to descend to Khunjari (5250 ft.0 a Limbu Village near Pha Khola; rest overnight.

Day 20. Pha Khola to Taplejung (7450 ft.): 
The trail makes a steep climbing through Shimu Village to Thembewa (5830 ft.) and continues to climb to Lali Kharka (6960 ft.) then, crosses a pass at 8100ft; the trail descends towards Taplejung Airport for camping overnight.

Day 21. Fly back to Kathmandu via Biratnagar and transfers to Hotel.